WEBINAR: Quality of care for mothers, newborns and children - Enhanced quality of service delivery

Register here

It is widely acknowledged that the sustainable development goals (SDGs), and in particular universal health coverage, cannot be achieved without access to quality essential health services. Quality of care for mothers, newborns, and children is a critical component of the local health service equation. Indeed, local health services are uniquely placed to ensure the provision of quality care to prevent maternal and newborn mortality, as well as to reduce avoidable morbidity and improve experience of care.

This webinar will provide an overview of the Quality of Care Network as well as highlight the potential pathfinder role of quality maternal, newborn and child health (MNCH) in wider efforts to enhance quality of health services within the context of universal health coverage (UHC). Specific country examples of change drivers will be examined with a focus on how MNCH can act as a pathfinder to progress towards people-centred services. Finally, the webinar examines how lessons learned from early work of the network can be cascaded to inform further work on quality at the national, regional and global level.

The webinar will allow participants to:

  • Learn about the Quality of Care Network;
  • Explore the linkage with MNCH quality efforts and wider efforts on quality at the local and global level;
  • Examine the crucial linkages between quality MNCH and wider health services and health systems;
  • Share country examples of change drivers that have worked in practice and that can inform the global pool of knowledge.

Intended audience: Frontline workers, Administrators, Policy-makers, Patients, Community Advocates, Donors

Time:
17 October 2017
Geneva, Switzerland 15:00 CEST
Washington DC, USA 09:00 EST
Tokyo, Japan 22:00 JST
London, United Kingdom 14:00 BST
New Delhi, India 18:30 IST
Lagos, Nigeria 14:00 WAT
Cairo, Egypt 15:00 EET


The Quality of Care Network brings together countries and implementing partners to deliver the vision that “Every mother and newborn receives quality care throughout the pregnancy, childbirth and postnatal periods.” The Quality of Care Network is led by nine countries (Bangladesh, Côte d’Ivoire, Ethiopia, Ghana, India, Malawi, Nigeria, Tanzania and Uganda), and supports the implementation of national plans for quality improvement. Its Learning Platform is building a community of health practitioners across all levels of service delivery, to harvest local implementation ideas and share experiences within and across countries.

Date: 
Tuesday, October 17, 2017 - 09:00 to 10:00
Location: 
Online
Organization: 
WHO Quality of Care Network
Facebook icon
Twitter icon
LinkedIn icon
e-mail icon